Monday, 14 April 2014

CORDUROY (lost album) 'London England Live'

Amidst the exaggerated swagger of ‘Lad-Rock’ and the self-conscious ‘Brit-Pop’ excesses of the mid-nineteen nineties, the NME Reader’s ‘Best Live Act’ awards, placed an Acid Jazz combo, Corduroy, amongst its top five...not bad for a band of who’s stage set largely consisted of instrumentals. 

Formed in December 1991,and signed to Acid Jazz Records in January 1992, the south-London four-piece’s live performance was energetic and infectious; rubber-band bass runs, buzz-saw guitar lines, creative funky drumming and a relentless soundscape of Hammond organ and melodic electric piano, combined into an adrenaline rush that was exciting, filmic and cartoonish. 

The ‘fabric four’ became an instant hit on the international live circuit, their shows a frenetic celebration of grooviness and fun.  The recordings featured on this disc are highlights from two informal home-town shows (by invitation only) for friends, musicians, and record label in-crowd. Capturing the adrenaline and audacity of a band clearly enjoying the party; these tracks are a memorial to the giddy Acid Jazz years (bum notes and all), and the place where it all started - London England.

    Track listing:

  1. E-Type
  2. The Frighteners
  3. High Havoc
  4. Something In My Eye
  5. Chow Down
  6. Clockwork Man
  7. Skirt Alert
  8. London England
  9. The Corduroy Orgasm Club
  10. Motorhead


  You are invited!

No comments:

Post a Comment